Rudolf Piehlmayer

Details

Rudolf Piehlmayer, born in Straubing (Germany), studied piano, clarinet and conducting at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater München (university for music and theatre Munich). In 1986 he won the sponsorship of the C.M.v. Weber Contest as well as the competition of the Felix Mottl Contest in Munich, and in 1987 he won the “International Weber Contest” for clarinet in Warsaw. After a scholarship in the orchestra seminar of the Deutsche Oper Berlin he became a solo-clarinetist of the Berlin Symphony Orchestra. During that period he studied conducting under Prof. Hermann Michael and graduated with an artist’s diploma summa cum laude/with honors. During his studies at the music university he attended master classes with Leonard Bernstein and Sergiu Celibidache.

In 1991 he was engaged as a solo/soloist coach at the REGENSBURG THEATRE and gave his opera debut there with Humperdinck’s “Hansel und Gretel”. Soon thereafter, he was appointed first Kapellmeister and then assistant general musical director.

In 1994 he was granted the sponsorship of the State of Bavaria.

2002-2009 Rudolf Piehlmayer was general music director of the City of Augsburg, director of the symphonic concerts of the Augsburg Philharmonic. Because he took over at short notice the première of Gisbert Nähter’s “The little Prince” with Mario Adorf and the orchestra of the DEUTSCHE OPER BERLIN, he was invited as a guest conductor for additional performances. He led, for instance, Orff’s “Carmina burana”, Mozart’s “Magic Flute”, Gluck’s “Orfeo ed Euridice” and Wagner’s “The Flying Dutchman”.

In January 2002, he debuted at the LEIPZIG OPERA conducting the re-staging of Richard Strauss’ “Rosenkavalier” with the GEWANDHAUS ORCHESTRA.

In March 2004, he conducted, in addition, Bruckner’s 8th Symphony with the GEWANDHAUS ORCHESTRA in a choreography of Uwe Scholz. And in 2006, he led several ballet performances there, among others: Mozart’s Jeunehomme concert and the 2nd Symphony of Robert Schumann.

During the CULTURE DAYS 2004 in SALZBURG he conducted Strauss’ “Salome” with the MOZARTEUM ORCHESTRA SALZBURG in the FESTSPIELHAUS SALZBURG.

In July 2005, Rudolf Piehlmayer led the PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA AUGSBURG in the highly acclaimed Augsburg première of Gustav Mahler’s 8th Symphony on the occasion of the 450th anniversary of the “Augsburger Religionsfrieden” (Augsburg Religious Peace). For this performance he was awarded the special prize of the Augsburg Theatre Prize 2005.
At the HERRENCHIEMSEE FESTIVAL in August 2005 he was invited to conduct the SINFONIA VARSOVIA with works of Strauss, Wagner and Berlioz.

Rudolf Piehlmayer was permanent guest conductor of the Gewandhaus Orchestra at the Leipzig Opera from 2007 to 2010, conducting over 80 performances. His repertoire in Leipzig included Puccini’s „Manon Lescaut“, Verdi’s „La Traviata“, Mozart’s „Magic Flute“, and „Carmina Burana“ from Carl Orff. Ballet productions of „The Nutcracker“, „Giselle“ and a Uwe Scholz production with Bruckner’s eighth and Schumann’s second symphony rounded out his stay in Leipzig.

A CD world premiere recording of the Concerto for oboe and orchestra of Swiss composer David Philip Hefti, with the oboist Thomas Indermühle and the Augsburg Philharmonic, was released in June 2010 under the label NEOS.

A new recording of Max Reger’s „Mozart Variations“ and Meinrad Schmitt’s „Im Zeichen der Venus“ with the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra was completed in January 2008 for the Bavarian Radio.

Numerous CD recordings were released during Rudolf Piehlmayer’s tenure as music director of the Augsburg Philharmonic from 2002-2009, including a CD for young people (Cavalli Records LC 50724) with Meinrad Schmitt’s „Crespino und König Tulipan“ and Maurice Ravel’s „Ma meré l´oye “.

In 2006 the international label EMI recorded „Fantasia Italia“ with virtuoso works of Antonio Pasculli for oboe and orchestra. The recording features the oboist Christoph Hartmann with the Augsburg Philharmonic and was released in 2007.

Rudolf Piehlmayer conducted a new production of Massenet’s „Werther“ in January 2011 at the Magdeburg Opera.

For the Norske Opera Oslo he conducted a new „Magic Flute“ production, that was the opening of their 2011/2012 opera season. These “magic flute” was a coproduction with the National Centre of performing arts Peking and the Hong Kong Opera.

In September 2012 he conducted three Concerts of Musashino Akademia Musicae Tokyo in Bavaria with Piano Concerto Nr. 3 of Beethoven and 6th Symphony of Tchaikovsky.

For March 2013 he is invited to Norwegian Academy of Music (NMH) to conduct Oboe Concerto of Richard Strauss and 1st Symphony of Johannes Brahms performed by Academy Symphony Oslo.

In August/September 2014 he was invited by Musashino Music University Tokyo (Musashino Academia Musicae) to conduct Musashino Symphony Orchestra during a Japan tournee with the following works: W.A. Mozarts’ Piano Concert d-Moll, 7th Symphony by L. von Beethoven and a Tschaikovskys’ Overture to Romeo and Julia.

In January/February 2015 he is going to conduct Lohengrin by R. Wagner at Opera National de Bretagne in Rennes, France.

Rudolf Piehlmayer

Details

Rudolf Piehlmayer, in Straubing geboren, studierte Klavier, Klarinette und Dirigieren an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München. 1986 war er Förderpreisträger des C. M. v. Weber-Wettbewerbes, sowie des Felix Mottl-Wettbewerbes in München, weiters 1987 Preisträger beim “Internationalen Weber-Wettbewerb” für Klarinette in Warschau. Nach einem Stipendium im Orchesterseminar der Deutschen Oper Berlin war er Soloklarinettist der Berliner Symphoniker. In dieser Zeit studierte er bei Prof. Hermann Michael Dirigieren und schloss sein Diplom mit Auszeichnung ab. Im Rahmen der Hochschule nahm er an Meisterkursen bei Leonard Bernstein und Sergiu Celibidache teil.

1991 wurde er als Solorepetitor an das THEATER REGENSBURG engagiert und gab dort sein Operndebüt mit Humperdincks “Hänsel und Gretel”. Bald darauf wurde er zum Ersten Kapellmeister und in Folge zum stellvertretenden Generalmusikdirektor ernannt. In der Spielzeit 2001/02 war er 1.Dirigent am Theater St. Gallen/ Schweiz.

1994 wurde ihm der Bayerische Staatsförderpreis verliehen.

Von 2002 bis 2009 war Rudolf Piehlmayer Generalmusikdirektor der Stadt Augsburg und Leiter der Sinfoniekonzerte der Augsburger Philharmoniker. Durch die kurzfristige Übernahme der Uraufführung von Gisbert Näthers “Der kleine Prinz” mit Mario Adorf und dem Orchester der DEUTSCHEN OPER BERLIN wurde er dort zu weiteren Gastdirigaten eingeladen. So leitete er Orffs “Carmina burana”, Mozarts “Zauberflöte”, Glucks “Orfeo ed Euridice” und Wagners “Der fliegende Holländer”.

Mit der Wiederaufnahme von Richard Strauss´ “Der Rosenkavalier” debütierte er im Januar 2002 mit dem GEWANDHAUSORCHESTER an der OPER LEIPZIG.

Im März 2004 dirigierte er außerdem Bruckners 8. Sinfonie in einer Choreographie von Uwe Scholz mit dem GEWANDHAUSORCHESTER. Ebendort leitete er 2006 mehrere Ballettabende mit Mozarts Jeunhomme-Konzert, der 2.Symphonie von Robert Schumann u.a.

Im Rahmen der SALZBURGER KULTURTAGE 2004 dirigierte er Strauss´ “Salome” im FESTSPIELHAUS SALZBURG mit dem MOZARTEUM ORCHESTER SALZBURG.

Im Juli 2005 leitete Rudolf Piehlmayer mit den AUGSBURGER PHILHARMONIKERN die umjubelte Augsburger Erstaufführung von Gustav Mahlers 8. Sinfonie anlässlich der 450-Jahrfeier des Augsburger Religionsfriedens. Für diese Aufführung wurde er mit dem Sonderpreis des Augsburger Theaterpreises 2005 ausgezeichnet.

Zu den HERRENCHIEMSEE FESTSPIELEN im August 2005 wurde er eingeladen die SINFONIA VARSOVIA mit Werken von Strauss, Wagner und Berlioz zu dirigieren.

Von 2007 bis 2010 war er als 1. ständiger Gastdirigent an der OPER LEIPZIG/ Gewandhausorchester tätig und leitete in dieser Zeit über 80 Vorstellungen an diesem Haus. U.a. Puccini „Manon Lescaut“, Verdi „Traviata“, Mozart „Zauberflöte“, Tschaikowsky „Nußknacker“, Adam „Giselle“, Orffs „Carmina Burana“, sowie Ballettabende von Uwe Scholz mit Bruckners 8. und Schumann 2. Sinfonie.

Im Juni 2010 erschien bei NEOS die Welturaufführung von David Philip Hefti „Konzert für Oboe und Orchester“ in einer Aufnahme mit Thomas Indermühle und den Augsburger Philharmonikern.

Mit den BAMBERGER SYMPHONIKERN produzierte er im Jan 08 Max Regers „Mozartvariationen“ und Meinrad Schmitts „Im Zeichen der Venus“ für den Bayerischen Rundfunk.

Desweiteren erschienen mit den AUGSBURGER PHILHARMONIKERN mehrere CD – Einspielungen, u.a. eine CD für Kinder mit Meinrad Schmitts´ “Crespino und König Tulipan” und Maurice Ravels “Ma mère l´oye” (Cavalli Records LC 05724). 2007 erschien bei EMI “Fantasia Italiana”, eine Ersteinspielung von virtuosen Opernparaphrasen für Oboe und Orchester von Antonio Pasculli mit Christoph Hartmann als Solisten und den AUGSBURGER PHILHARMONIKERN (EMI 0946 3 79944 2 9).

Im Januar 2011 dirigierte er die Premiere von Massenets „Werther“ am Theater Magdeburg. An der DEN NORSKE OPERA/ NATIONALOPER in Oslo hat er die Spielzeit 2011/12 mit der Premiere von Mozarts Zauberflöte eröffnet.

Im September 2012 leitete er in drei Konzerten die Süddeutschlandtournee mit der Musashino Akademia Musicae Tokyo u.a. mit Beethovens Klavierkonzert Nr. 3 und Tschaikowskys 6. Sinfonie.

Im März 2013 ist er von der Norwegian Academy of Music (NMH) eingeladen worden, das Academy Symphony Oslo in zwei Konzerten zu dirigieren. Auf dem Programm das Oboenkonzert von Richard Strauss und Johannes Brahms 1. Sinfonie.

Im August/ September 2014 ist er von der Musashino Music University (Musashino Academia Musicae) in Tokio als Gastdirigent eingeladen worden das Musashino Symphony Orchestra bei einer Japantournee zu dirigieren. Auf dem Programm standen Werke von Mozart Klavierkonzert d-moll, Beethoven (7. Sinfonie) und Tschaikovsky (Ouvertüre zu Romeo und Julia).

Im 2015 hat er die musikalische Leitung von Wagners Lohengrin an der Opéra National de Bretagne in Rennes und Opéra de Rouen Haute-Normandie übernommen.

***

Webseite